New Medical Staff Leadership and Value of “Managing Up”

Premier Pulse     December 2022

1326106436By Percy Mitchell, MD, medical staff president, Atrium Medical Center

The time has arrived for our Medical Staff Operating Council to welcome new leadership to serve for the next two years. William Andrew, MD, will be the next medical staff president, and Jill Aston, MD, will serve as president-elect.

We now have 12 department chairs:

  • Anesthesia: Craig Henry, DO
  • Emergency Medicine: Mark Gebhart, MD
  • Family Medicine: Michelle Eakins, MD
  • Medical Imaging: John Weske, MD
  • Medicine: Jamie Yunger Jr., MD
  • Hospital Medicine: Heather Markwell, MD
  • Neuropsychiatry: Jon Lazzara, DO
  • OB-GYN: Heather Hilkowitz, MD
  • Orthopedics: Jennifer Smail, MD
  • Pathology: Alan Prok, MD
  • Pediatrics: Amanda Graf, MD
  • Surgery: Heather Adkins, MD

Communication with department chairs is essential for our staff to move forward positively. There are issues specific to each department that, when discussed with your department chair, can clarify concerns quickly before they are elevated to formal complaints and written notifications.

We all must keep in mind the value of “managing up” without falling into the dangers of enabling. Honest communication is often difficult but most helpful in the long run.

Happy holidays to everyone and may the next two years be less stressful than the last two!

Back to the December 2022 issue of Premier Pulse

Premier Health Logo