Premier Health Barbershop Health Patnership

P-W-MKT94828-Barbershop_Health_350w_KS

Premier Health has partnered with six barbershops in Montgomery County to increase awareness of chronic health conditions and promote healthy lifestyle choices within the African-American community.

This program, which launched in 2019, offers free health screenings and health education at Serenity Salon, Deeez Cuttz Barbershop, Man Up Barbershop, City Stars Unlimited Barber and Salon, Headliner Barbershop, and Stylzes Barber and Nail Care on select Thursdays through Saturdays from April 18 through December 18. The barbers with whom we are partnering are passionate and enthusiastic as we are about this program, which will communicate the importance of prevention, early detection, and disease self-management, as well as encourage healthy living.

Voluntary health screenings will feature free blood pressure, height, and weight measurements, along with a body mass index calculation and a fingerstick test for A1c. The highlight days will be even larger events that also additional education and services. Additionally, events from September through December will have a limited number of free flu shots available.

Ten of the barbers who participate in the Barbershop Health program have received CPR, automated external defibrillator (AED), and first aid training. Each barber has been certified by the American Heart Association.

Dates and Locations

City Stars Unlimited Barber and Salon
1649 N. Gettysburg Ave., Trotwood, OH 45417

  • Thursday, April 22, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 26, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. (Highlight Day)
  • Friday, August 6, 1 – 5 p.m.
  • Friday, November 5, 1 – 5 p.m.

DCB (Deeez Cuttz Barbershop)
2576 Shiloh Springs, Trotwood, OH 45426

  • Saturday, May 8, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
  • Friday, July 23, 1 – 5 p.m. (Highlight Day)
  • Thursday, September 16, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 4, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Headliners Barbershop
729 E. Main Street, Trotwood, OH 45426

  • Thursday, May 27, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 10, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. (Highlight Day)
  • Friday, September 17, 1 – 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 18, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

ManUp Barber Shop
4444 Powell Road, Huber Heights, OH 45424

  • Sunday, April 18, noon – 4 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 19, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
  • Friday, August 27, 1 – 5 p.m. (Highlight Day)
  • Thursday, November 4, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Serenity Salon Barber Hail Nails
4628 Salem Ave., Trotwood, OH 45416

  • Saturday, April 24, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
  • Friday, June 11, 1 – 5 p.m. (Highlight Day)
  • Thursday, August 12, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 13, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Stylzes Barber and Nail Care
7600 N. Main Street, Dayton, OH 45415

  • Friday, May 21, 1 – 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 17, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. (Highlight Day)
  • Thursday, September 9, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 11, 9:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

    Contact Us

    Premier Health is ready to help you build a healthier community, a healthier school and a healthier workforce. Community health services are offered through Premier Community Health and Fidelity Health Care. Call us at (877) 274-4543(877) 274-4543 or contact us online to learn more about our services and schedule a meeting or events.