Does a person go through all stages of grief?

When something upsetting happens in a person’s life – such as a death of a family member - they cope and move on by experiencing multiple stages of grief.

Not every person grieving experiences all of these stages of grief, according to the National Institutes of Health (NIH). People who work through some or all of these stages of grief don’t feel these emotions on the same timeframe.

While grieving, people typically experience the following range of emotions, according to the NIH:

  • Numbness and denial
  • Anger and blaming others
  • Shock and bargaining
  • Depression and mourning
  • Acceptance

For some people, each stage may take only a day or a few days to work through, while for others, it could take months or years to finally move to acceptance, according to the NIH.

For more about stages of grief, talk with your doctor.

Learn more: